The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus



Meet the Candidates:

Homecoming Queen Nominees

Chi Omega: Lauren Lyngstad


Lyngstad is the student representative to SMU Board of Trustees Development and External Affairs Committee, a moderator for the Tate Lecture Series Student Forum, the Student Foundation Director of Administration, a tour guide for the SMU Office of Admission, both a President’s and BBA Scholar, a member of the Honors Advisory Council, a Mustang Corral leader and is the Vice President of Chi Omega.

Union: Brie Strickland


Strickland is a senior and also a Nancy and Ray Hunt Leadership Scholar, an SMU Tour Guide, a member and mentor of the University Honors Program, acts on the PRSSA Executive Board, a Mustang Corral leader, the social chair for her Panhellenic sorority, U11 President, and a contributing writer for The Daily Campus.


Delta Gamma: Chelsea Rickel


Rickel, a computer science major, is a member of Phi Sigma Pi, Vice President of Foundation for Delta Gamma, holds various Delta Gamma Director positions for volunteer hours and Bid Day, and is also the recipient of Delta Gamma Merit Scholarship.


Theta Tau: Jennifer Smith


Smith is an active member and serves as the liaison of the SMU Sustainability Committee, has co-directed and acted in SMU’s production of The Vagina Monologues, has held many leaderships in Theta Tau Professional Engineering Fraternity and is currently serving as Regent.


Pi Phi: Jillian Rossow


Rossow is a senior in the Cox School of Business, a member of the Cox Energy Club, a Cox School Ambassador, member of Student Foundation, and is serving as president of Pi Beta Phi.


Alpha Chi Omega: Domenica Fuller


Fuller is a journalism major and is the president of Students for a Better Society, a member of Student Foundation, a Meadows Student Ambassador, member of Chi Alpha, serves as Panhellenic Junior Delegate and is on the Executive Board for Alpha Chi Omega.


Eta Iota Sigma: Karin Kuusisto


Kuusisto, a pre-med and biology major, is a member of the Diversity Committee, the Minority Association of Pre-Health Students, the Alpha Epsilon Delta pre-medical fraternity, and serves as vice president of Eta Iota Sigma.


Gamma Phi Beta: Kyra McCarty


McCarty is the national Residence hall honorary president, a resident assistant, a member of the Alpha Epislon Delta Pre-Med Fraternity, a member of Mustang Mavericks, a receptionist at the Meadows Museum, and serves as Gamma Phi Beta’s recording secretary.


Delta Delta Delta: Addison Fontein


Fontein is a political science major who has been involved with SMU’s Mock Trial team, the Student Senate and has served as Tri Delt’s Panhellenic Delegate.


Kappa Alpha Theta: Sarah Stanton


Stanton, an accounting major, is listed on the High Distinction Honor Roll, is the team captain of the SMU Mock Trial team, an orientation leader for Mustang Corral, and served as new member director and director of scholarship for Kappa Alpha Theta.

MGC: Crystal Truong


Truong is a member of the pre-med society AED, a member of the ALD honor society, a member of AC and affiliate organizations, has served as president of VSA and is a member of Multicultural Greek Council.


Kappa Kappa Gamma: Mackenna Scripps


Scripps is a journalism major and serves as president of the SMU Retail Club, is the SMU Fashion Week Fashion Show planner, has served as editor for SMUStyle, is an SMU Hilltop Stylist and is a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma.


Homecoming Kings


Union: Michael Graves


Graves is a consultant for MustangConsulting, President Emeratus of the Religious Studies Club, Community Relations Director of TFN, a research assistant to Dr. Maria Dixon Hall, both a President’s and Meadows Scholar, is an Engaged Learning Grant Recipient, listed on the Honor Roll with Distinction, and has been a Union member all four years of SMU serving as first-year president and campaign and challenge chair.


Multicultural Greek Council: Marcial Sanchez


Sanchez is a mechanical engineering major and has won the Engineering Fellows Scholar Award. He is a member of Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity, Inc., serves on the Scholars Den Council, apart of the IDEAL Scholars Program, serves Young Mustangs Scholars as a High School Mentor, and is a Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholar, a SMU Distinguished Scholar, and a SMU Mustang Scholar.


Beta Theta Pi: Zane Cavender


Cavender is a Student Senator for Dedman College, has served as Student Body Vice President, has served as the North Texas Regional Chair of the Texas Foundation of College Republicans, serves as a member of the Inter-Fraternity Council Executive Board, is a Student Representative to the Board of Trustees, is both a pre-law and Hunt Leadership Scholar, and is currently serving as Beta’s Senior Representative to Beta’s Internal Review Board.


Lyle Ambassadors: Ramon Trespalacios


Trespalacios, a native of Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico,  is currently serving as student body president. He is an active member of Lyle Ambassadors, a member of the professional engineering fraternity Theta Tau, and is a former resident assistant.


Beta Upsilon Chi: Anthony McAuliffe


McAuliffe serves on the student senate as the Meadows senator, membership chair and the Dedman II senator. He also serves on the diversity committee for the student senate, is the vice president for the Student Affairs Advisory Board, and is the homecoming chair for his fraternity, Beta Upsilon Chi.


Phi Gamma Delta: August Scherer


Scherer is a member of the SMU Polo Club serving as vice president, a member of the SMU energy club, participates in the alternative assets program and the Cox analyst program, and is a member of the Phi Gamma Delta fraternity.


Sigma Chi: Andy George


Keith is a campus representative for Highland Entertainment and Powerhouse entertainment and has served as rush chair for his fraternity Sigma Chi.


Sigma Alpha Epsilon: Tony LaRose


LaRose is a member of Alpha Kappa Psi, participates in the Cox Analyst Program and the BBA Portfolio Practicum and is a member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity.

Pi Kappa Alpha: Jordan Miller


Miller, a native of Atlanta, is a finance major and a linebacker for the SMU Mustangs, serves on the Interfraternity Council hearing board, and serves on the Pi Kappa Alpha executive board.

Multicultural Student Organizations: Andrew Udofa


Udofa is a member of the Multicultural Student Organizations.


Kappa Alpha Order: Sean Gatz


Gatz, a biology, chemistry and psychology major, is a refounding father of Kappa Alpha Order Beta Lambda chapter, a Mustang Scholar, a peruna pal for incoming accepted seniors, and marketing and sales assistant for The Daily Campus.


Lambda Chi Alpha: Christopher Wheelis


Wheelis is a member of the health professional honor society Alpha Epsilon Delta, a Hamilton Undergraduate Research Scholar researching chemotherapeutic resistant cancers, a Dedman College Scholar and Vice President and Philanthropy Chairman of Lambda Chi.


More to Discover