The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

SMU professor Susanne Scholz in the West Bank in 2018.
SMU professor to return to campus after being trapped in Gaza for 12 years
Sara Hummadi, Video Editor • May 18, 2024

Meet the Board: SMU elects 7 new Board of Trustee members

Photo credit: SMU News and Communication

Updated by editor on Sept. 12 at 10:16 p.m.

Seven new members were elected to the SMU Board of Trustees during the July quadrennial meeting of the South Central Jurisdiction of the United Methodist Church, according to an SMU press release. Their four-year terms will begin at the Sept. 15-16 meeting of the Board of Trustees. The newest trustees will join the 31 members re-elected to four-year terms.

Additionally, SMU reports Michael M. Boone ’63, ’67 was re-elected as chair, David B. Miller ’72, ’73 was elected as vice-chair, and Robert H. Dedman, Jr. ’80, ’84 was elected as secretary. Board officers are elected to serve one-year terms and are eligible for re-election for up to four consecutive terms in any one office.

“I am honored to be re-elected as chair of the SMU Board of Trustees,” Michael M. Boone ’63, ’67 said in a press release. “As SMU begins its second century as a vibrant university in the heart of the thriving city of Dallas, the board is poised to continue to guide SMU to become one of the nation’s finest educational institutions in academic quality, research, student development and community impact.”

Two new ex officio members were elected to one-year terms: Jeanne Stevenson-Moessner ’11, president of the SMU faculty senate and current SMU law student Stephen Jake Torres, student representative.

Eight members of the SMU Board of Trustees completed their terms: Bradley W. Brookshire ’76, The Reverend Mark Craig, Larry R. Faulkner ’66, James R. Gibbs ’66, ’70, ’72, Gene C. Jones, and Frederick S. Leach ’83. Ex officio members Jacob Conway ’16 and Doug Reinelt completed their terms as student representative and president of the SMU faculty senate, respectfully, according to SMU.

“I am grateful to the members of the SMU Board of Trustees for the important wisdom and insight they bring to the University,” SMU President R. Gerald Turner said in a statement. “My special appreciation goes to the eight board members who have completed their terms during such a pivotal and progressive time in the university’s history. I am also grateful to the new and current board members who are taking the charge forward as SMU enters its next century.”

Meet the new SMU Board of Trustees members:

Gerald B. Alley ’75
President and CEO of Con-Real: Arlington, Texas

Photo credit: Con-Real website

Alley received his MBA in Real Estate and Finance from SMU in 1975 and has been active in his company for over 30 years. He has received numerous awards recognizing his commitment to excellence. Alley’s “vision and leadership have prepared the company to meet the technological changes to assure its place as a leader in the years to come,” according to his company bio.



Tucker S. Bridwell ’73, ’74
President of Mansefeldt Investment Company: Abilene, Texas

Photo credit: Concho website

Bridwell has served as president of Mansefeldt since 1977 and was previously the president of Topaz Exploration Co. for 17 years. He received both his BBA and MBA from SMU before serving in numerous directorial and executive positions across the accounting and energy fields.




Juan Antonio Gonzalez Moreno
President and chairman of the board of Gruma Corporation: Mexico City / Irving, Texas

Photo credit: Gruma

In his 36 years at Gruma Corporation, Moreno has served in several positions leading up to his advancement to president, including president of Azteca Milling, vice president of Central and Eastern Regions of Mission Foods, and CEO of GIMSA and Gruma Asia-Oceania.




Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey ’99
Bishop of the Louisiana Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church: Baton Rouge, La.

Photo credit: United Methodist Church website

Upon receiving her masters of divinity from the SMU Perkins School of Theology in 1999, Harvey has served in pastoral, administrative and board positions within the United Methodist Church. In 2012 she was assigned to work in the Louisiana area for the Louisiana Annual Conference. Harvey also currently serves as the deputy general secretary for the United Methodist Committee on Relief (UMCOR) in New York.





David S. Huntley ’80
Senior executive vice president and chief compliance officer of AT&T Inc.: Dallas, Texas

Photo credit: David Huntley LinkedIn

Huntley has been with AT&T for over 20 years and has held significant positions in numerous branches of the company. Prior to being appointed chief compliance officer, Huntley served as senior vice president and assistant general counsel for AT&T Services as well as senior vice president, general counsel and secretary for all legal functions of Advertising Solutions and Interactive operations, according to his company bio.



Frances A. Moody-Dahlberg ’92
Chairman and executive director of the Moody Foundation: Dallas, Texas

Photo credit: TWU website

Before serving as executive director for 16 years, Moody-Dahlberg was the director of National Western Life Group, Inc. for eight years. She has been a trustee of The Moody Foundation since Feb. 2004.




The Reverend Paul Rasmussen ’04
Senior minister of Highland Park United Methodist Church: Dallas, Texas

Photo credit: Highland Park United Methodist Church

Rasmussen, a fourth generation Methodist minister, graduated with a BA from Centenary College and a MA from the University of Richmond. He was named the senior minister of HPUMC in July 2013.

More to Discover