The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

SMU students gather around a bucket of markers to write an encouraging note to put in “Welcome to the Shelter” kits at event in mid-April on SMU’s campus.
Dallas homeless recovery center, The Bridge, is a home
Morgan Shiver, Contributor • June 20, 2024

Campus Election Results

Russ elected vice president, proposed amendment fails
 Campus Election Results
Photo by Nate Regan, The Daily Campus
Campus Election Results

Campus Election Results (Photo by Nate Regan, The Daily Campus)

In the largest Student Senate election since 1971, the Special Interest Seat Referendum was rejected, if only by the slightest of margins. The announcement came just shortly after 9 a.m. Friday, as the referendum, which needed 67 percent of the vote for it to be passed, received 1,055 votes, just 63 percent of the vote. Six hundred eleven voters rejected the referendum.

“The amazing thing about it all was the number of student voters,” Student Body President Chip Hiemenz said, “It’s clear that the student body has spoken. With 1,600 voting on the amendment alone, it’s obvious that student voices were heard.”

Following the referendum announcement, Liz Healy modestly smiled when Senate Membership chair Mitchell London announced that she had been elected Student Body President for 2005-2006. The announcement came as no surprise as Healy, the current student body vice president, ran unopposed, and received 1,455 votes.

“I’m just thrilled to be entrusted with the position of student body president and I’m thankful for the opportunity to serve the students of SMU for another year,” the president-elect said.

“I know that Liz will do a wonderful job, she’s a true visionary,” Hiemenz said.

In the other competitive election, sophomore Taylor Russ received 937 votes, giving him the position of vice-president for the 2005-2006 school year. Russ beat out competitor Rafael Alvarez, who campaigned heavily the last few days leading up to the election, and write-in candidate Adam DeSilva. Russ currently serves as the Student Senate finance chair.

In the other uncontested race, sophomore Drew Washington was elected Student Body secretary. Washington received 1,513 votes, the largest amount among all senators.

Junior Katy Blakey was also elected Senior Class president for the Class of 2006.

One of the first issues Healy hopes to tackle when she takes office will be seeking a solution for the Boulevard for next football season. Currently, Student Body President Chip Hiemenz and members of the athletic department are working on the issue.

“In the upcoming year, it’s clear that the constant improvement of the Boulevard is definitely going to be a big issue that Liz will face during her time as president,” Hiemenz said. He also noted that while campus safety and parking are perennially prevalent, unforeseen issues always arise.

“The underlying theme for fixing the Boulevard will be getting the word out,” Healy said. In the conclusion of the interview, when the president-elect was asked about student apathy, she said the election was a positive sign. “I’m encouraged by the voter turnout,” she said, “if nothing else, it has meant more discussion. Now, we need to continue the buzz into next year.”

Campus Election Results:

Student Body President

Liz Healy (1,455 votes, 100%)

Student Body Vice President

Taylor Russ (937 votes, 56%)
Rafael Alvarez (656 votes, 39%)
Adam DeSilva (69 write-in votes, 4%)

Student Body Secretary

Drew Washington (1,513 votes, 100%)

Meadows Senators

Emily Graham
Andrea Gulley
Brooks Powell
Toby Atkins

Engineering Senators

Sarah Rives
Frederico Gonzales
Brady Bishop

Cox Senators

Max Roberts
Todd Lincoln Torrey
Staphanie Ramirez
Will Shaddock
Trent Calvo
Jonathan Sloan
Chase Spirito

Dedman I Senators

Van Ann Bui
Wesley Brown

Dedman II Senators

Jaclyn Durr
Justin Montgomery
Michael Jimenez
Christy Cangelosi
Adam Rizzieri
Benjamin Hatch
Robin Millican
Jeffrey Lee Humphrey

Hispanic-American Senator

Roberto Espinosa

African-American Senator

Lee Hinga

Asian-American Senator

Alan Lin

International Senator

Marina Rangelova

Senior Class President

Katy Blakey

Senior Class Council

Chip Hiemenz
Ashley Claire Earnest
Jordan Parker
Stephanie Ramirez
Kylie Slater
Jennifer McDowell
Ceesun Sumurdy
Kathryn Poindexter
Katie Walton
Kathleen Tarbox
Rawson Hart
Chase Spirito
Kevin Kariuki
Jeffrey Lee Humphrey
Tabari Stillman
Jasmine Culpepper

Student Center Governing Board

Tabari Stillman
Chase Spirito

Student Media Company Board of Directors

Chase Spirito
Max Roberts

Special Interest Seat Referendum (67% Required for Passage)

Reject (611 votes, 37%)
Accept (1,055 votes, 63%)

More to Discover