The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

The Independent Voice of Southern Methodist University Since 1915

The Daily Campus

SMU professor Susanne Scholz in the West Bank in 2018.
SMU professor to return to campus after being trapped in Gaza for 12 years
Sara Hummadi, Video Editor • May 18, 2024

91st Senate holds final meeting

In its final meeting of the year, the 91st assembly of the Student Senate concluded by passing five pieces of legislation.

The first, a bill to fund SPARC $1,300 to sent two coordinators for training at Alternative Break Citizenship Schools. Carol Clyde spoke during the speaker’s podium part of the meeting to inform the Student Senate of the trips for two students.

Asked why the funding was not submitted as part of the organization’s budget, Clyde responded, saying, “funding the program was the highest priority, we didn’t want to push our luck.”

Senator Cason Pierce, the author of the legislation, explained to the Student Senate that $400 was allocated for airfare, and the remaining $900 for registration.

Senate passed the legislation after a brief debate session.

Next, a bill to fund the dean of student life office $3,807 for the student handbook and planner was discussed. Mixed opinions arose with Senator Drew Washington, the author of the bill saying that the planner/handbook combination offered students an incentive to read the handbook. Other senators opposed the bill by saying that the dean of student life office should plan for the added costs of printing the planner/handbooks for $5.15 a copy.

The resulting decision was that Student Senate should fund the costs on a one-time basis.

Despite a request of $3,807, the finance committee gave a recommendation of $2,514. The bill was passed in favor of $2,514.

Lastly, Student Senate voted in block on recognizing and commending three men retiring from the Perkins School of Theology. It was voted unanimously that Kenneth W. Hart (18 years at SMU), William S. Babcock (38 years at SMU), and James E. Kirby (24 years at SMU) receive commendation for their impact on the SMU community. Each of the men’s retirement is effective on June 1 of this year.

In his final officer report as Student Body President Chip Hiemenz thanked everyone who had helped him during his term and willed down some items from his office to Student Body President-Elect Liz Healy.

In her report, Healy gave the “Star of the Week” to outgoing Speaker Jeff Pope.

In her final reports as Student Senate advisor, Arlene Manthey invited everyone to all of Mane Event’s ongoings. She also encouraged senators to sign up to be graduation ushers because of the 11 unfilled spots. Another encouragement Manthey offered was for students to sign up for LeaderShape — six spots are still open.

Finally, Manthey thanked the Student Senate for making SMU a better place.

Intertwined with a variety of business, Student Senate handed out its “of the Year Awards.” In all a total of six awards were handed out.

Professor Hal Williams received the faculty member of the year award for his classroom excellence and his role in heading up the provost search. Williams said that he was “moved and touched” by the award. He also gave the Student Senate a preview of the incoming provost.

“The provost we landed, I think, is a genuinely wonderful provost,” he said.

Program Council President Alicia Hills received the student of the year award.

For organization of the year, Mustang Marathon was chosen.

Chair of the year went to Melissa Dozier and senator of the year went to Senator Adam Hill.

Lastly, Arlene Manthey was honored as staff member of the year. The award, a surprise for Manthey, resulted in tears from the Student Senate advisor who is moving to another department, relinquishing her position as the adviser. She took over the role of Student Senate advisor in 1995 and said she is daily reminded of the impact the students can have on the campus when she drives by the under construction Dedman Center.

Taking over for Manthey will be Ryan Williams who currently works in the Student Activities Center and is already familiar with Student Senate’s day-to-day operations.

Newly elected student body officers and the 92nd Student Senate are set to be sworn in tomorrow at 3 p.m. outside Dallas Hall as part of Mane Event.

More to Discover